Melbourne Arts Club

In 1994 Ted May organised a group of fellow artists to formulate the constitution for an Arts Club in Melbourne.  Founding members at the inaugural meeting, which was chaired by Ted,  included Bruce Armstrong, Peter Corlett, Victor Majzner, Les Kossatz, Maudie Palmer, Marjorie Johnston, Ray Marginson, Lisa O’Keefe, Norman Day, Max Robinson, David Neath, Peter Foster, Peter Riches, David Joseph and Peter McKeown.

The constitution for the Melbourne Arts Club Incoporated, complete with Architectural Plans to convert the Flinders Street Railway Station Building to house the Club, were presented to various officials of the Victorian State Government and the Corporate Sector.  They were sympathetic to the project, but no funding was obtained.  Nevertheless Ted's determination managed to secure premises to operate the Club with the help of volunteers, and to set up an Art Gallery in which members’ and guest artists' works were exhibited.

Ted made inroads into other art clubs throughout the world, putting into place International Reciprocal Programs, as well as programs which enabled regional artists to exhibit their works at the Melbourne Arts Club Gallery.

Numerous lunches, dinners, forums, lectures, poetry readings, and many more art associated and social events were held each year for the 1500 members and their guests. 

Holding the positions of Executive Director, and later President, over a period of six years, Ted took  the Club to a productive level,  before resigning in 2000 to focus more fully on his art practice.